Eligibility by Country

(133 countries, As of January 1, 2022)

○ The following list is based on reciprocity and subject to change depending on the pension system of each country. Any foreigner, whose home country is not in the list as its pension system is not identified, is covered compulsorily under the National Pension Scheme.

Category	Coverage under the NPS	Countries
Α	Workplace-based Insured Person & Individually Insured Person (76 countries)	Guyana, Cape Verde, Greece, the Netherlands, Norway, New Zealand, Commonwealth of Dominica, Germany, Denmark, Latvia, Russia, Romania, Luxembourg, Libya, Lithuania, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Morocco, Mauritius, Montenegro, Republic of Moldova, Malta, the U.S.A., Barbados, Bahama, Bermuda, Belgium, Bulgaria, Brazil, Servia, Sudan, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Switzerland, Sweden, Spain, Slovakia, Slovenia, Argentina, Iceland, Ireland, Albania, Azerbaijan, Estonia, the U.K., Austria, Australia, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Ukraine, Israel, Egypt, Italy, Japan, Jamaica, China, Czech Republic, Chile, Canada, Columbia, Croatia, Cyprus, Tanzania, Turkey, Togo, Tunisia, Trinidad and Tobago, Panama, Palau, Peru, Portugal, Poland, France, Finland, the Philippines, Hungary, Hong Kong
В	Workplace-based Insured Person only (35 countries)	Ghana, Gabon, Grenada, Taiwan, Laos, Lebanon, Mexico, Mongolia, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Belize, Vietnam, Bolivia, Burundi, Bhutan, Sri Lanka, Sierra Leone, Haiti, Algeria, Ecuador, El Salvador, Yemen, Jordan, Uganda, Indo, Indonesia, Zimbabwe, Cameroon, Kenya, Costa Rica, Republic of Cote d'Ivoire, Congo, Kirgizstan, Thailand, Paraguay
С	Excluded from Coverage (22 countries)	Georgia, Nigeria, South Africa, Nepal, East Timor, Malaysia, Maldives, Myanmar, Bangladesh, Belarus, Brunei, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Swaziland, Armenia, Ethiopia, Iran (under the Social Security Agreement), Kazakhstan, Cambodia, Tonga, Pakistan, Fiji

※ Foreigners from the countries in Category A and B are covered mandatorily as Workplace-Based Insured Persons as of August 4, 1995; however, the following countries become eligible at a later stage.

- Tanzania (since Jul. 1, 1998), Laos (since Jun. 1, 2001), Russia (since Dec. 15, 2001), Sierra Leone (since Jan. 1, 2002), Turkey (since Jul. 29, 2003), Ukraine (since Jan. 1, 2004), Lithuania (since Jan. 1, 2005), Azerbaijan (since Jan. 1, 2006), Egypt (since Feb. 12, 2020), Vietnam (since Jan. 1, 2022)

***** Foreigners from the countries in Category A are covered mandatorily as Individually Insured Persons as of April 1, 1999; however, the following countries become eligible at a later stage.

Romania (since Jan. 1, 2001), Spain (since Jan. 12, 2000), Russia (since Dec. 15, 2001), Ukraine (since Jan. 1, 2004), Lithuania (since Jan. 1, 2005), Azerbaijan (since Jan. 1, 2006), Panama (since Jan. 1, 2007), Togo (since Oct. 31, 2014), Turkey (since Nov. 12, 2014), Sudan (since Nov. 17, 2014), Chile (since Jan. 13, 2015), Saint Vincent and the Grenadines (since Jan. 20, 2015), Peru (since Jan. 1, 2019), Columbia (since Jun. 17, 2019), Egypt (since Feb. 12, 2020)

X Countries which were once covered but now are exempt from coverage as Workplace-Based Insured Persons

- Armenia (since Jan. 1, 1998), East Timor (since Dec. 10, 2008), Georgia (since Apr. 7, 2009), Nigeria (since May. 29, 2014), Malaysia* (since Sep. 15, 2014), Brunei (since Nov. 28, 2019), Kazakhstan (since Oct. 26, 2020)
- * Malaysians were once covered mandatorily as Workplace-Based Insured Persons during a period between Aug. 1, 1998 and Sep. 14, 2014.

X Countries which were once covered but now are exempt from coverage as Individually Insured Persons

- East Timor (since Dec. 10, 2008), Georgia (since Apr. 7, 2009), Yemen (since Apr. 7, 2009), Republic of Cote d'Ivoire (since Apr. 7, 2009), Burundi (since Dec. 19, 2018), Brunei (since Nov. 28, 2019)